As I will not have an Art Therapist to refer to with my work and sessions I will have to take on the role of participator and therapist. I will participate in the process and the afterward evaluating. I will have to;

  1. Determine what the process of art making was like
  2. Identify what stood out to me
  3. What surprised me
  4. What was pleasant
  5. What was difficult
  6. Can I explain the images meaning?
  7. What feelings do I have as I view it

For this information I looked at a blog created by an Art Therapist where she talks about the process of each session and the kinds of challenging conversations she presents to her clients. These questions will be the basis of my self-evaluation. The blog I mentioned is linked below;

http://mindfulartstudio.com/what-is-an-art-therapy-session-like/

In the below link are Art Therapy Exercises which I may use as a guide for the exercises that I will adapt for myself to complete and reflect on. Within these exercises I hope to determine what issues I feel I am facing and what obstacles I feel I am having trouble coming to terms or coping with. Furthering my understanding of myself.

http://intuitivecreativity.typepad.com/expressiveartinspirations/100-art-therapy-exercises.html

From the outset I can acknowledge that I have a tendency to call the art I will complete “tasks” instead of exercises. Although I have to complete this project for a university class I want it to be more than just work I have to do, my goal is to use art in a way I have never before to help me better myself when there isn’t anyone who can help me. I feel subconsciously that I already have a somewhat negative approach to the project and by acknowledging this before I start I hope that I can begin with an open mind which would in fact be the whole premise of the project in the first place.